Tacoma Library

After the sketch outing at the farm, I went on to the Tacoma Library to see Chandler O’Leary‘s show of her travel sketchbooks, which are featured in her blog, Drawn the Road Again.  It was hung on 3 walls of a lobby or mezzanine.  I have no close up photos as they were not allowed, for obvious reasons.

I’ve seen most of these images on her blog.  I very much enjoy seeing and reading it.  I admire the art she creates, especially since much of it is done in watercolor in the nasty Moleskine Sketchbooks with waterproof paper!   But I was interested, too, in how she displayed the sketchbooks.  I found that the books had been scanned but in such a way that it actually appeared to be a book within the frame!  One really doesn’t want to tear art out of the bound book to display.

After the exhibit, I explored a little more of the Library, since I’ve never been there.  It opened in 1903 and was the first Carnegie Library built in Washington state.

I found this odd time capsule.  It was created by Artist Jill Reynolds to enable Tacoma residents in the year 2000 to leave a legacy for the year 3000.  Participants placed a snip of hair (for DNA) and a note in a sealed glass tube.  These were placed in this large lab flask.

The Northwest Room and Special Collections have everything one might want to know about the city and region. The collection includes a wealth of unique databases, hundreds of thousands of photographs, genealogical records and much more. It was there that I thought I’d stepped back in time.  I found a paper card catalog and several microfiche readers!

More photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

