Sewing Academy and WWSCD at the Fort

I’m attending the Sewing Academy this weekend at Fort Nisqually.  Elizabeth Clark is a well known expert in the  interpretation of mid-18th century.   Fort Nisqually brought her to teach her Sewing Academy this weekend.  I’m learning a lot but I’m starting from zero.

We started Friday evening.  Liz is very organized so there was a delightful bag of information and supplies for each person.  It’s a small world… in the bag was this packet from Hedgehog Handworks.  I knew both of them in the SCA in Caid.

Friday evening’s content was two foundational lectures about interpreting history.  So there was no sewing to be done.  I did a small sketch of the two people in front of me.

The next morning started before the Fort was open to the public.  It was about 0815 and the fog was heavy.  Since it is also the 45th World Wide Sketchcrawl Day, I had to get in at least one location sketch!  So I sketched the foggy scene.  I attempted to represent the fog with a glaze of white gouache but it didn’t quite work.

 

Saturday was a long day… 12 hours 0900-2100.  But Liz is a very entertaining and animated speaker.  Here’s a bit of humor…. her daughter as a “butt head”…. she’s wearing her bum roll on her head.

During the lunch break, I walked around the Fort.  I saw this thing…. is it a beet?

The brick oven was being rebuilt.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera when they were actually building it but here it is finished and curing.

During our dinner break there was a beautiful sunset.

To bed early and then it starts over tomorrow!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sewing Academy and WWSCD at the Fort

  1. JOAN says:

    I’ve been following your blog for a while as I’m interesting in Urban Sketching. Seattle seems to a bustling community of artists of all sorts. What caught my attention in today’s post was the Sewing Academy workshops you’re attending. Are you a docent, an re-enactor, do you sew 1850-1865 clothing? What is the SCA in Caid? The uninformed want to know.

    • redharparts says:

      Re Fort Nisqually: I’m just beginning on my journey. I took the Sewing Academy as I know nothing about sewing mid-1800’s. At the moment, I’ve just been fitted for a loaner set of period clothes and will start as an interpreter at the Fort soon. Right now, I’m helping out in the Sewing Guild, mostly with mending projects.

      SCA – Society for Creative Anachronism, a group that studies and recreates the middle ages and Renaissance http://www.sca.org/

      Caid is the SCA branch (Kingdom) in Southern California http://www.sca-caid.org/

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Oh, I thought you were in Michigan — instead, you were into intensive sewing! Sounds fascinating!

  3. Peggy says:

    Really interesting post, Kate!

  4. Joan T says:

    I love how you used some of the time to sketch…a true Urban Sketcher!

Leave a Reply

