Final leg of the trip

The next few days until I fly home on Wednesday afternoon will be spent in my hometown.  I have an event today (Sunday, 26 Oct)  and then I’ll see family and more friends.  But on Saturday (25 Oct) I started the day still in Mt. Pleasant.

Dawn seems to come later here.  It’s not fully light until at least 0800.  So I dallied a bit in the room before checking out.  Then I drove out into the countryside.  I found a large grain elevator in tiny Rosebush, north of Mt. Pleasant.   This little farming community only has a couple businesses but a huge grain elevator because farming is the biggest business in the area.   I sketched a part of it as the whole thing was overwhelming and would have taken more time than I wanted to spend today.

I looked around Mt. P a little more and then left about noon.  But not before having another Cornish pastie for lunch!

I got off the freeway in Lapeer, the county seat.  Then I drove the 13 miles along the old highway to Imlay City.

I haven’t been back to my hometown in 12 years.  There are a lot of changes, as is expected.  Many of the businesses with which I was familiar are gone.  But there are new ones.  I don’t know the overall tally.  It’s a very small town.

One of the saddest losses is a home business.  This was a beautiful, large, field stone home that was also a dental practice.  It burned but looks like it may be being restored.  I hope so.  Maybe someone will know the story of what happened.

All photos are here.  

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final leg of the trip

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I really like your loose approach on the grain elevator! This is a really interesting can’t-go-home-again nostalgia trip you are on — your discoveries from the past and present. The loss of the business is sad, but the best part of the stone building remains.

    • redharparts says:

      I learned from talking with a neighbor to that house that though the walls stand, to be repaired it must all be taken down. The insurance company is fighting with the owner, to whom they reportedly sold “replacement coverage” and now do not want to pay to replace.

Leave a Reply

