Home town

The morning is again clear and sunny, though rather chilly.  I drove around town and stopped to look at the home in which I grew up.  It doesn’t look as it did when I lived there.  The newer owners have re-landscaped and added new siding.

The stone bar b que my father built is still there.  Actually, my father, with help from his family, built the house and later the addition!

I drove out into the countryside and found a good example of an older barn and silo to sketch.  This is on Attica road.

Sketched this in the Mixed Media Strathmore Visual Journal sketchbook, which Roz Stendahl recently reconfirmed is the series 500 paper.  It is very nice paper.

A few more photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home town

  1. Joan T says:

    I had quite a few of your posts to go back and see….my, you’ve been busy in Michigan. Love the sketches of your hometown…the new additions and the nostalgic places. Looks like you really enjoyed the trip.

Leave a Reply

