Roadside American

This was a good sketching day.  I sketched from early morning to almost sunset.

Of course, there was  several hour break when I went to Flint to visit family.  We had a delightful visit in the home of my cousin and his wife. Other cousins came as well.

Since I didn’t need to be in Flint until 1pm, I went out in the morning in search of sketch targets.  I had information from Roadside America and was seeking the weird and unusual.

First stop was a small Twin Towers memorial on private property but viewable from the street.

The traditional Episcopal red church door caught my eye and I stopped for a quick sketch.  By 11am it was warm enough to stand outside.

After the visit with my family it was pleasantly warm and there was some daylight left.  I drove south of my home town to sketch a couple oddities at the same place.   Roadside Attractions listed the Big Steer.  But not the “Cool Moose”. The sun was setting as I finished the Moose.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roadside American

  1. miatagrrl says:

    What a great bunch of sketches! Excellent view of the moose! :O

Leave a Reply

