NaNoDrawMo is almost here!

It’s almost November. That’s the month for the writing challenge… NaNoWriMo.  For us sketchers, there is NaNoDrawMo https://www.flickr.com/groups/nanodrawmo/

From the “about” for the flickr group:  “Loosely defined goals are for each participant to produce 50 individual works/drawings between Nov 1 and Nov 30. You can always do more than 50 if you’ve got it in you! That’s just the minimum everyone should be shooting for.

You do not have to be good. There is no quality requirement. The idea is to force yourself to practice by setting a high quantity goal. Also, it’s not a competition (except with yourself). Any medium is OK, as long as you can get it onto Flickr somehow.”

In a search, the flickr group comes up first.  But there are also hashtags on Instagram, Tumblr,  Twitter  #nanodrawmo

This time, I’m going to give myself permission to do some sketches from my photos.  And then there is the usual Urban Sketching and Sketchbook Skool homework.  It all counts!

BTW, I’m home from Michigan.  Too busy catching up today to sketch.  I even skipped “Drink and Draw”, which I’ve not done before!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoDrawMo is almost here!

  1. JOAN says:

    I’ve been following your blog for a while and had to comment today. I’m going to commit to this NaNoMoDraw challenge. I’ve taken 2 Sketchbook Skool courses, Seeing & currently in Beginning. For some reason, I am so intimidated that I haven’t done one homework from either session. I’m frozen in place, a first for me. Maybe this challenge will get me moving again.
    I do enjoy your postings, followed your trip to MI at the perfect time of year. I lived in Flint for 4 years when my children were toddlers. Couldn’t take the winters, being cooped up in a closed up house for months with little kids! I moved there from the coast of So. Calif. where every day is mild and no snow.
    Thanks for posting this challenge.

  2. redharparts says:

    Thanks, Joan. I’ve done all 3 SBS Kourses but find much of the homework uninteresting. Too many other things to draw than to do something that just isn’t what I’m interested in. One thing about all these instructors is that they seem to suggest we draw in their style or with their tools… like the one that wanted us to try a Bic pen.

    I used to live in SoCal, too. But I found it too hot and dry. I like the weather here as a compromised with Michigan…. there are still beautiful changes of season, but not as much snow!

    If you can, please post your sketches to the NaNoDrawMo flickr page!

    Thanks for being such a loyal reader!

Leave a Reply

