Overpackaged?

Actually, it probably isn’t, given how an artist might want paper to remain flat.  I thought my order of 22×30 inch art paper from Jerry’s Artarama   might come in a roll.   It certainly came packaged well! It was in a huge flat box.  I don’t know why it says “must open within 48 hours”.  Paper doesn’t spoil.

When I opened it, I found another almost-box, 2 sheets of heavy cardboard and corners.

Finally, the package of paper.

I intend to save this packaging in case I ever need to ship a painting that size!  I’ve never yet done a full sheet painting, but one never knows.

The shipping cost almost as much as the paper.  So either I need to order in larger quantity OR find some place local to buy it.  I’ve tried everywhere but Dick Blick.  Since I plan to go to Gabi’s book signing at Elliot Bay tomorrow, Blick is just around the corner.  Oh, and besides the locations mentioned in his post, his books are now also available at Daniel Smith.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Overpackaged?

  1. LucyJartz says:

    My 20×30″ watercolor from Jerry’s Artarama recently came that way. Having never ordered such large sheets of paper before, I too was a little surprised.

  2. JOAN says:

    I attended an art class for a while some years ago. We would place a collective order with Cheap Joe’s and split the shipping cost. Much easier on the wallet. They periodically have free shipping sales, in fact, one is going on now for $2 shipping. Maybe you could ask your Urban Sketcher group?

Leave a Reply

