Homework at a book signing

The homework for Danny Gregory’s Sketchbook Skool class, Storytelling, is to draw a trip.  I just got back from one and since I don’t have one planned in the near future, I decided to use my outing today for the homework.

Here’s my map and plan for the day.

Gabi Campanario had a book signing today at Elliot Bay books. He  is the “Seattle Sketcher” in the Seattle Times and the founder of Urban Sketchers.  The Seattle Times put out a book of his sketches from the newspaper.   Seattle Sketcher An Illustrated Journal by Seattle Times Artist Gabriel Campanario

He also has another new book, the first of a 2 volume set, The Urban Sketching Handbook: Architecture and Cityscapes: Tips and Techniques for Drawing on Location.  Daniel Smith has all his books.

Gabi, at right, signing his book

Prior to that, I stopped at Dick Blick to look for sheets of the Strathmore Series 500 Mixed Media paper.  Though they sell it on the website, it’s not available in the store.

NaNoDrawMo count is 23.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in NaNoDrawMo, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homework at a book signing

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Nice map of your trip and sketch of Gabi! I’m way behind on the SBS homework. I am continually disappointed by Blick having things online but not in the store. I hardly go there anymore, since I might as well just order online.

Leave a Reply

