In honor of 2014 Veterans Day

As is my recent tradition, I’ve done a sketch to honor Active Duty Military and veterans on Veterans Day.  “Thank you for your service” sounds so inadequate.  There are so many sacrifices made by active duty military and their families, including the ultimate sacrifice.  I spent most of my working life, and all of my professional life, serving them and it has been an honor and a privilege.

If anyone wants a full resolution version (this is reduced res), just let me know in the comments or send an email to mkbuike at aol dot com.

This is from my photo of the State of Michigan Viet Nam Veterans Memorial.  In a section of the  park is this memorial to the veterans fallen in the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts (OIF/OEF).

My images from the State Of Michigan Memorial are in this album.  There are plaques with the names of those in Michigan who died.  The entry sign says, “In memory of the men and women who service in the Viet Nam War and Later died as a result of their Service”.  There are many VN war deaths that happened decades after the conflict due to diseases judged to be related to Agent Orange exposure.    The focal point is this sculpture

NaNoDrawMo #25.  Half way there.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, NaNoDrawMo, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In honor of 2014 Veterans Day

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Lovely sketch and tribute. You have a great tradition.

  2. Joan T says:

    Nice sketch as a tribute. I had my painting group in the morning so I missed the Veterans Day gathering at the memorial here that I usually sketch.

Leave a Reply

