New Tires

It was a frustrating afternoon and not a very good way to spend Veterans Day.  But the car needs tires before we go up a mountain and the rest of my days this week are scheduled.

It was almost a comedy of errors.  Wrong tires ordered and delivered.  The manual says it is a 2005 but when I called the dealer about tires they have in stock, the service rep confirmed it is a 2006 and it has a different set of “high performance” rims/tires.  It’s definitely not a high performance car.  Sigh.  So it was 3.5 hours waiting at the tire store but I now have new tires for the winter season.

And two more sketches.

I picked a sunny corner table, far from the doors as there is a very chilly wind. It gave me a long view of the store.

My car sat up on the jack for hours with no tires.

Moleskine pocket watercolor sketchbook
Staedtler pigment liner pen
Daniel Smith Watercolors

NaNaDrawMo numbers 26 & 27.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in NaNoDrawMo, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Tires

  1. Joan T says:

    It is always good to have your sketchbook with you at a tire center…just in case. I’ve sketched similar views. Nice! Now you can go drive and sketch someplace more scenic. lol

  2. JOAN says:

    I can commiserate with you…there was a recent news report about faulty airbags in a number of cars, my SUV being one of those. I checked the list for my make and model, called the dealership where they told me it wasn’t one recalled. I asked why it was on the list? Next day I was scheduled for an oil change (2.5 hour wait) so before I went I checked the Nissan site for the list of recalls where I found my car listed. I told the service rep that I’d checked with Nissan & would they please replace the airbag…he looked on his computer, said NO, it’s not on the list! So now I drive around wondering if this airbag is going to blast off unexpectedly, sending shrapnel into my body. It makes me very uncomfortable not knowing who to believe.
    Whatever model car you’re driving, I’m glad you have new tires that will transport you safely to sites you want to sketch.

Leave a Reply

