Early morning in Port Townsend

We spent the night in Port Townsend, at the Swan Hotel.  As usual, I was up too early in the morning.  I watched the Goulet Q&A and then Mark Taro Holms’ webinar    If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.

At 0830, I went out to sketch.  It was still so cold that there was rost on the car windows.  I spent more time walking than sketching, searching out a coffee shop with a view.

I spotted this man and he looked to me like he was sketching.  So I went up to him and he was indeed!  We shared our recent drawings.  He’s a student at Shoreline, with 30 more drawings he needed to do that day for his assignments!    Even in mittens, my hands were very cold, so he was doing better than me at sketching out doors!  I told him about Urban Sketchers and invited him to join us.

Finally, I settled in at the Boiler Room, a volunteer run coffee shop with an interesting music wall.

At noon, we met up with a relative of my husband’s  for lunch.  While there, I sketched the view out the window.

NaNoDrawMo count is now 47.  Just 3 more to go for the November goal.

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in NaNoDrawMo, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Early morning in Port Townsend

  1. Joan T says:

    Mark’s webinar was great! What a cute coffee shop you found and how nice that they provided musical instruments for you to draw. Nice sketches!!

  2. Michele says:

    You have your own niche in Pt. Townsend, Kate. Wonderful sketches and narrative.

Leave a Reply

