Hurricane Ridge

We drove out to the Olympic Peninsula on Saturday (15 Nov).  The goal was to drive up to Hurricane Ridge, which is just up (south) from Port Angeles, located on the northern edge of WA, on the Strait of Juan de Fuca.

It was very cold at the Hurricane Ridge Visitor Center.  It was 25 degrees plus a significant wind chill.  Yup, this is us.

While himself went off to take some photos, I stayed in the Visitor Center to sketch the view.

Then I drove the car to a different vantage point and sketched from inside its relative warmth.  There were a couple Ravens.  I was quite pleased to see them as I don’t remember the last time I have.  One posed long enough for me to include him in the sketch.  They seemed quite habituated to people.  They might have been posing on purpose, hoping for a bit of food.  One woman did offer a snack, which the raven cautiously accepted.


Feathers blowing in the wind.

After a couple hours, we drove back down but stopped along the way to photograph the sunset.   Mt. Baker is just visible here.

We spent the night in Port Townsend and ate at the Owl Sprit Cafe.  A few months ago, when I ate there with Pacific Northwest Klassmates from Sketchbook Skool, I found the counter too intimidating to sketch.  Also, we were having good conversation and I was distracted by that.  From were we sat on this trip, I thought I could do it and I like the sketch.   Perhaps what I’ve learned about editing a scene has helped.

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in NaNoDrawMo, Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hurricane Ridge

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great sketches and cute photo of you two! You look a little chilly! 🙂

  2. Joan T says:

    I enjoy seeing your photos of your travels and the sketch of the counter at the cafe came out great…just the right amount of detail. I always forget that it gets so cold out there. Brrr!

Leave a Reply

