Another seminar & 50!

Yesterday, Monday, I went to another seminar for continuing education. This is an agency that presents free workshops regarding the mental health care of veterans.  Most are half day and they also give free CEU’s.  I like them not only because it’s free but ecause it is concerning  care of veterans, which is how I spent the majority of my career.  Though I’m retired, I’m still interested.  I’m keeping my license, so I need CEU’s and I choose the ones in which I would have the most use if I were still working.

BTW, some of their presentations are aimed at the general public.  This is the Veterans Training Support Center in case you might be interested and live in Seattle.  Just check the “details” heading for the intended audience and look for “general public”.  Currently, all the upcoming events are for professionals.

Since I’d just been to an all day workshop on using technology in clinical practice, this one had a lot of the same information.  I did glean a few new bits, though, particularly about video conferencing technology.  I’m not in practice, so unlikely I will use it.  So I had some space in my brain for multitasking a sketch.  I can listen and sketch at the same time.

First, my view of the presenter:

Moleskine pocket watercolor sketchbook, Staedtler pigment liner pen, Daniel Smith Watercolors

Then some “floating heads” of the various people in my view.  There is room for one more but she just didn’t hold still long enough for me to get her and then it was time to leave.

Moleskine pocket watercolor sketchbook, pencil

And that’s my 50 for NaNoDrawMo, 6 days early!

While driving home, I listened to the special Veterans Day episode of the The Moth podcast.  It was really fitting, considering the presentation I’d just attended.   The Moth is a live, story-telling, event.  But they record and I download them to my podcast app.  I’m a little behind in my listening, which  I only do so while driving or doing chores.
There were 4 stories, including:
“A Sort of Homecoming”  OIF/OEF veteran reflects on his readjustment.  Very sad.  And makes me very angry at Cheney! WoMD – Not!
“The Boundless Sky”  97y/o WWII WASP pilot reflects on her experiences flying the B17 Flying Fortress!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in NaNoDrawMo, Sketches. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another seminar & 50!

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Congrats on hitting 50!

  2. Joan T says:

    Congrats on finishing the challenge!!! You did a great job on the people in the crowd.

Leave a Reply

