Second fauxdori

Oh, boy.  This morning I went down the intarwebs rabbit hole looking at fauxdori sites.
Last night I discovered the Facebook group, Fab Faux-dori & Fans.  This morning I was approved and found a lot of information and links.

First, I found a link to this notebook: Bull and Stash Notebook Kickstarter. Interesting idea.  I don’t think I would like it.  Because of the screw-binder, it won’t lay flat.  I would find that hump in the middle so annoying that I just couldn’t use it.  Your opinion may differ so I’ve included the link.

I’m having lots of ideas.  However, same problem as with any craft.  If I get started playing with ideas and make a bunch of these, what do I do with them?  I really don’t need
more notebooks!  The Etsy market is certainly flooded and I don’t want to go back to
selling!  I’d be happy to make one (or some) for friends.

Last night I finished the second small fauxdori.  I added a charm to the bookmark.  It’s sized for Field Notes or the pocket Moleskine.

I’ve cut out two more.  I’m going to dye them dark brown, which is my preferred color.  One will be able to hold more pocket notebooks.  The other is for a full sized Moleskine cahier.  So now I’ll need more leather if I make any more.  I’m thinking of driving to the Tandy store in Puyallup.  I’ll take my patterns.  I don’t need a large piece so I think I can get a good deal on scraps.

I may also try making one out of fabric.  That’s an idea I saw on the Facebook page.  Can we say geeky-fabric fauxdori?  Oh, yes, we can (Star Wars! Space Shuttle! Steampunk! Oh, my!).

One question I asked myself was, “I wonder if this beading elastic comes in any color besides black”. Silly rabbit!  Of course it does!  I went a little nuts at JoAnn’s.  The two packages on the right are colors of beading elastic.  In the middle are some colors in 1mm leather cord (for the bookmark).  On the left is some cotton cord, which I also thought I’d try for the bookmark.

It also occurred to me that since the bookmark is just tied in, it could be changed as the mood hits.  As can the charm at the end.

It was all on sale so going nuts cost me less than $20.

I have lots of little charms left over from other projects.  I did have to get this one (again, 40% off).  It opens so one can put a tiny bit of paper with an inspirational word or two.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second fauxdori

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I’ve been down that rabbit hole many times, and it’s deep! 😉 Have you already discovered this Flickr group?: https://www.flickr.com/groups/travelernotebook/
    Lots of eye candy there. I’m less interested in the covers people are making as I am in the creative ways people are using the contents. I don’t carry any kind of notebook like this (my bag is heavy enough as it is), but I really enjoy seeing what other people do with them.

Leave a Reply

