Practice Portraits

Though it’s bright and sunny, the weather has also been cold, hovering around freezing for the highs.  Only some of the snow from the weekend has melted.   So I haven’t felt like sketching on location.

As from my previous posts, I’ve been having fun with notebook crafts.  Though I’ve worked on that today, I have nothing new to show.  My 2 new leather fauxdoris (what’s the plural?) have been dyed dark brown but I’m waiting for the dye to dry.  I’ve put together the fabric one but I can’t find my small eyelet setter.  I’m planning to insert small eyelets for the holes through which to run the elastic.

While waiting for leather to dry I did a couple practice pencil portraits from photos.  Though I like them both the second looks more like the person than the first.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Daily Sketches, Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Practice Portraits

  1. Paul says:

    Very nice portraits. Los of character in the faces.

  2. vickilou92 says:

    Great job! I need to do more note booking, but the faux dorying looks so enticing! So what do modern fans do…fill their notebooks, file those and get a new one for the cover?

  3. redharparts says:

    Thanks, Vickilou. The beauty of the Midori/fauxdori system is that the notebooks inside can be swapped out when full or a different one is needed. I keep 3 or 4 different pocket Moleskine cahiers, one for each hobby or activity. I can keep my regular note keeping one plus one or two for an activity in the cover, plus a planner, if one does a paper planner.

Leave a Reply

