Fauxdori x 3

I just finished 3 more fauxdori (what’s the plural?!).  Two are leather dyed dark brown.  These took longer as they required almost a day to dry after being dyed.

The larger one holds a large Moleskine cahier journal.  The Fairy Door charm on the book mark opens to hold a small note.  I might change it to hang from the closure elastic, as I’ve seen Yochanan Israel do (on the FB page Fab-Faux-dori & Fans.)  It’s a little heavy for the end of the bookmark.

The smaller leather cover is sized for pocket Moleskine or Field Notes books but is a bit wider to also hold a Moleskine weekly planner.  It has a Celtic knot bead on the end of one bookmark.  I put two bookmarks on it… one for the notebook and one for the planner.

My next experiment was making one in fabric.  This is just cotton print but interlined with 4 (2 on each piece of fabric) pieces of Pellon 808 Craftfuse.  It creates just the right amount of body.  I intended this to be for carrying during the Christmas season.  I didn’t have even any scraps of Christmas fabric left so I just used a print with abstract green trees.  The lining is red.  Again, I added two bookmarks as with the small leather one.  I used a couple of my Christmas decor beads.

This one has a small pocket on each side of the cover.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts, KIt and Supplies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fauxdori x 3

  1. miatagrrl says:

    These look great! Please bring one or two to our next gathering — I’d love to see these in person.

  2. redharparts says:

    OK! Will bring on Friday

  3. Louise Topie says:

    Very interesting! It is always great to see such artistic passion and creativity. It was so nice to see you in October in Michigan. Thank you for making the long journey. Love seeing your work!

  4. redharparts says:

    Thanks so much for you kind comment, Louise! It was good to see you, too.

Leave a Reply

