Drawing Jam

The Drawing Jam at the Gage Academy of Art happens once per year.  I’ve never been but I was warned that it gets very crowded. So I got there about 0830 and encountered Tina who’d parked near me!  We talked for a while before joining the line at 0845, waiting for opening at 0900.

It was such a forest of easels that I wondered how anyone could see the models.  But the artists were used to this and shifted about so everyone had a view.

I chose the costumed model room.  There was also a room with nude models.  The first model was former Marine CPL Chris Sharpe.   There were 1 and 5 minutes poses and then a long 30 minute one.  I did two watercolor sketches during the long pose.

The auditorium held a stage with 3 or 4 models in gym tights doing short poses.

I was ready to leave about 1300.  I made a brief visit to the beautiful St. Mark’s Episcopal Cathedral and the Cathedral shop.  Gage is in a building formerly occupied by the Cathedral.

All the photos from the day are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drawing Jam

  1. Joan T says:

    Great sketches of the Marine CPL! I love seeing your sketches and Tina’s sketches of the same events.

Leave a Reply

