Scenes of Christmas

Clam Lights is a holiday tradition in the town in which I live.  It is a display of Christmas lights along a path in Coulon Park, next to Lake Washington.  My favorite display is the dancing Clams, made famous by Ivar’s, a local seafood restaurant.  This video shows them in action!  It was sunny and 58 degrees so I sat on my stool in the park to sketch the Clams during the day.  It’s fitting that there is an Ivar’s fish & chips shop within view.

They are a version of  “Clem the dancing clam”, who first appeared in 1985.  “Keep Clam!”

I got an early start to the day.  I thought it would be safe to make a trip to the mall just as it opened and before it got too crazy.  Monday morning early is a good time after the world has been shopping over the weekend.  The Santa stage was facing the opposite direction from previous years, making it easy to sketch from the floor above.  Santa didn’t have any children visiting yet.

And, yes, I had Ivar’s for lunch in the mall!

I noticed this lounge area in the mall.  It’s a nice table with a spot to plug in one’s device (laptop, tablet, etc) and a beverage machine behind.  It’s the perfect place for the non-shopper to wait for the shoppers.  There were also comfy chairs off to the right.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scenes of Christmas

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Hey, you got a Santa! And clams, too!

  2. Joan T says:

    Nice that you have a view of Santa from above. I always have tons of people in my way when I try to sketch him. Nice!!

    • redharparts says:

      It was the usual orientation so, yes, it did offer a better view to sketch. In previous years, I, too, hadn’t been able to get close enough see see. I sketched the BACK of the sleigh a year ago!

  3. Pingback: Christmas Interface | Red Harp Arts

Leave a Reply

