Klass reunion

The Pacific Northwest Sketchbook Skool Klassmates had another reunion.  A few of us met at the historic Panama Hotel and tearoom in the International District of Seattle.

The Panama Hotel dates from 1910 and is associated with the immigration of Japanese.  The Hashidate-Yu Sento, located in the basement, is one of only two surviving Japanese public bathhouses in the USA.  More of it’s history can be found here  The basement also holds belongings, never reclaimed, of Japanese citizens sent to internment camps during WWII. Some are visible through glass bricks in the floor of the tea room.

Judi reminded me:  The book, The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, takes place in Seattle during WWII and tells the story of the Chinese and Japanese resident communities whose lives in the International district were impacted by it. It is the story of the Panama hotel and the cache of belongings that were found there in the basement belonging to 39 displaced families.

We’ve been planning this gathering for a few weeks. At first, we thought we’d like to meet in an English tea room.  But none in the area could accomodate a group of 10-12 people at once who also wanted to stay a couple hours to sketch and talk.  There was plenty of room at the Panama, though.

My new little companion, purchased at a nearby shop in the ID: I’m calling her my “Packed Rat” but otherwise haven’t come up with a name. She helped me greet the Klassmates as they arrived and pass out name tags.

I hate finding parking in Seattle, so I took the lightrail into town.  On my walk up to the meeting spot, I noticed this interesting juxtaposition of the China Gate and the Smith Tower.

My first sketch at the Panama was of the window, looking out.  I wanted to do something new for this week’s Urban Sketchers theme, “windows”

Before people started to leave, we got a group photo.

After the group left, I stayed behind to sketch this little scene.

A few more photos.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketchbook Skool, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Klass reunion

  1. Joan T says:

    I like your sketch of the window setting and the view out. Nice. How great that you have all been able to get together!!

Leave a Reply

