Sketching Winterfest

Seattle Urban Sketchers meet for the December outing at the Winterfest, indoors at the Seattle Center Armory.  When we started at 10am, it wasn’t too crowded.  As the morning went on, more and more people came and it became a challenging sketching environment.

Sketching the scene, what I can see of it around the people and supervised by Packed Rat

But I managed to do a sketch of what interested me most about the huge model train village… the clock tower and the biplane.

I walked around a bit outside as it was dry and mild.  I saw this odd little photo booth.

We had our sharing and group photo.

We’re missing at least 4

I’d boarded the light rail at 0830, so it wasn’t very crowded and I could comfortably sketch my fellow passengers.


Finally, a rather annoying image and a humorous one.  Stall mall?  Really?  Seen on the inside of the toilet stall door!

I chuckled at the reindeer antlers attached to the Monorail train.

A few more photos.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sketching Winterfest

  1. Joan T says:

    It looks like a fun place for sketching. I like that photo booth…a photo in a cup! Good sketches!!

  2. So good to see your smiling faces. I miss sketching with you and the group, but am engaging vicariously through your photos and sketches. Thank you for sharing the experience. Until we meet again, please relay my greetings to all from way over here in the South Pacific! Aloha!

Leave a Reply

