New items for kit

I was at Bartell’s Drugs and noticed these items in their large travel section.

On the top shelf is a 2 oz jar with a screw on lid and wide mouth.  I thought it would make a good water container for on-location watercolor sketching.  I think it was James Guerney who said he carries 2 containers so he’ll have clean water.  Right now I’m carrying one 4 oz container.  They are $1.69 each.  Below is a small sprayer at $2.29 for two.  That’s cheaper than the ones at Daniel Smith.  It is used to spray the watercolors to re-wet them.

edit 26 Dec 2014:  Turns out the little 2 oz bottles don’t have a very secure lid. They can leak a bit if not closed well. Live and learn. At least it wasn’t an expensive lesson.

Though it’s on sale at Bartell’s for $10 off, I couldn’t find a copy of the Seattle Times’ book on Gabi Campanario, The Seattle Sketcher. at either store near me.  This is what I saw at one store:

It’s OK, I already have a copy.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New items for kit

  1. Joan T says:

    Good “finds”. I ordered Gabi’s book and Mark Taro Holme’s as Christmas gifts for me from my hubby. That way I get what I want. lol

    • redharparts says:

      I have all 3 of Gabi’s recent books but have only read the one on sketching architecture. I also have Marc’s book but haven’t read it yet. I think you’ll enjoy them. I had a workshop with Marc (& Shari) in Portland, OR 2 years ago.

  2. redharparts says:

    Turns out the little 2 oz bottles don’t have a very secure lid. They can leak a bit if not closed well. Live and learn. At least it wasn’t an expensive lesson.

Leave a Reply

