Space Shuttle Model

On 20 Nov 2014, I worked my shift in the Space Gallery at the Museum of Flight.  I watched the Spaceflight Academy build.  I met the Museum volunteer who built the fuel tanks for the model of the Space Shuttle. Alfred  is a retired Boeing Engineer and, obviously, a skilled wood worker!  They are built of plywood and Masonite, plus some tubes from the big box hardware store.  I never cease to be amazed by the knowledge and talent of the Museum’s volunteers!

However, it wasn’t able to be installed on that date due to some technical difficulties.  Today was the first shift at the Museum where I saw it in place!  So, of course, I had to sketch it.

Most of this first drawing I was able to do from my spot near the front door while the traffic was slow.  The model is all the way down to the back end of the Shuttle Trainer, under the payload bay door.  The astronaut model is in front.  Hanging over the shuttle’s payload bay is the Initial Upper Stage.

I did this closer view after my shift.

The model of the Space Shuttle was built and donated by Aerojet Rockadyne of Redmond.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Space Shuttle Model

  1. I love that you chose the astronaut theme for you most recent sketch challenge…very interesting challenge.

  2. I love that you can sketch something so scientific and it looks good. Great sketch!

Leave a Reply

