Sketching the Roastery

I was concerned we might face a long line to get in to the new Starbucks Roastery on Capitol Hill.  As Tina had counseled, that was likely a feature of the holiday season and she was right. There was very little line when I arrived for the Friday Sketchers ad hoc outing.

I positioned myself near the door to greet the arriving sketchers.  There were at least three new people!  Welcome to Audree, Xi and Jayahrea!!  While sitting there, I used the waiting time to sketch the artistically styled lamp.  Everything in this store has been given the utmost attention to artistic detail.

There is so much action that it’s almost overwhelming.  So much to sketch!  I started with a limited view at the main bar:

Once warmed up, I took on the larger view of the small batch roaster.  Though it’s called “small batch” it is the largest roaster in this building.

We shared our sketches and had the ubiquitous group photo, though there are at least 3 people who had to leave early:

We were noticed.  Customers came up to see the sketches.  Staff stopped to talk. I had a fun time!

I have a lot more photos taken around the building here.    But I have to share this one.  It is so Portlandia (the TV comedy about Portland)

The card reads, “The Portland Press.  This coffee press, from the Portland startup, Bucket, is built to last a lifetime.  The glass is a Mason jar made in this USA.  The lid is hard rock maple.  The felted cozy that keeps your coffee warm is made from Jacob sheep wool. It’s nice to support the kind of coffee passion you can only find in the Pacific Northwest. “.

I surprised they didn’t note the name of the sheep!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sketching the Roastery

  1. Thanks for the morning chuckle! I’m going to get up there one of these days when I regain all my ‘friskiness’. Won’t be long. If you want to go again, let me know and we’ll meet up.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Great sketches and post, Kate! I missed that Portland Press! I would have expected name of the sheep and PHOTO of the sheep!

Leave a Reply

