Journal workshop

Janice Berkebile showed us how to make 2 kinds of journals, both of which used pamphlet stitch.  We had plenty of time as it ran form 10am to 4pm.  She provided lots of individual help, too.  She is a good teacher and made it fun.   I’m looking forward to the next workshops in the year-long series.  She’ll cover different kinds of books each time.  She works at Daniel Smith and we had the large classroom in the back of the Seattle store.

Janice demonstrates the booklet.

First we painted the paper that would be used to make one of the journals.  We used watercolor and she had 4 kinds of salt to play with creating textures.

This time there were only 4 of us, so we had plenty of room to spread out!  the bottom half of this image is my mess.

For the larger journal, she encouraged us to use specialty papers in addition to the art paper.

Janice offered a selection of waxed linen thread in lots of colors to compliment the color scheme of the journals.

I liked this style best.

I also learned about 2 new products.  Well one was new to the store and one was new to me.  The Molotow white acrylic paint works somewhat better than the white Uni-ball Signo pen for adding highlights to painted areas.  I played with one there and then bought one.

This is the new Molotow masking liquid pen.  I didn’t use it today but others did.  The smaller one is quite fine and dries quickly.  The larger one is a refill but can also be used for masking larger areas.  It goes on a light blue color, so is easy to see where it is.

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Journal workshop

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Please bring your finished books to the next sketch outing — I’d love to see them. I might join you at one of the other classes, depending on the binding style. I’m pretty happy with Coptic, but I’m always interested in learning new ways to hand bind.

  2. How great that your store does classes. I don’t think the one in our area offers them. I’ll have to check. Looks like a fun book.

Leave a Reply

