Do not pet the Dragon

In the past two days, I’ve seen the old and new of amazing technology.  Yesterday was a beautiful pipe organ, which as the height of technology in the 17th century.  Today I saw the SpaceX Dragon spacecraft on exhibit at the Museum of Flight!  I found it interesting and exciting as I’ve followed the “career” of the Dragon for several years.

I did manage to do a sketch by exercising what is for me, unusual, patience.  I could only draw when the crowd parted.

Of course, I had to have the stickers the SpaceX representatives were passing out!


The Museum’s photographer took a photo of me, similar to this (taken by one of the Docents). The sketch is partially finished.  I’m wearing my Dick’s version of the Seahawks 12 t-shirt as a big game is tomorrow.

This was SpaceX’s amusing version of the “don’t touch” sign

Several more photos are here.

Here are the details on the Dragon as provided by SpaceX:

“DRAGON SPACECRAFT
Dragon is a free-flying spacecraft designed to deliver both cargo and people to orbiting destinations.

The Dragon on display at the Museum of Flight is the second manufactured by SpaceX. It made history in May 2012 when it became the first commercial spacecraft to deliver cargo to the International Space Station and safely return cargo to Earth, a feat previously achieved only by governments. Since then Dragon has delivered cargo to and from the space station multiple times, providing regular resupply missions for NASA. It is the only spacecraft currently flying that is capable of returning significant amounts of cargo to Earth.

Currently Dragon carries cargo to space, but it was designed from the beginning to carry humans. Under an agreement with NASA, SpaceX is now developing the refinements that will enable Dragon to fly crew. Dragon’s first manned test flight is expected to take place in 2-3 years.

TECHNICAL OVERVIEW
Total Launch Payload Mass: 6,000kg (13,228 lbs)
Total Launch Payload Volume: 25m3 (883 ft3)
Total Return Payload Mass: 3,000kg (6,614 lbs)
Total Return Payload Volume: 11m3 (388 ft3)
Dragon Height with Trunk: 7.2m (23.6 ft)
Diameter: 3.7m (12 ft)
Sidewall Angle: 15°
Orbit Duration: Up to 2 Years”

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do not pet the Dragon

  1. miatagrrl says:

    This is cool! I’d never heard of the Dragon before! You sketch the coolest stuff!

  2. You are so good on all those technical details…super!!!

Leave a Reply

