Seahawks Blue & Green

One of the wonderful things about being retired is I can change the day’s plans on a dime!  I heard on the news this morning that workers were going to hang 12th Fan flags from the Old Rainier Brewery and then also change the bulbs in the big “R” atop the building to Seahawks blue and green.  The team left for the Superbowl yesterday.

So, of course, I had to go sketch that!  Even more so because we’re having Spring in January.  It was bright sun, clear blue sky and 62 degrees F!!  After a few errands, I headed over to the location.  I sketched there for 3 1/2 hours.

I did 3 sketches of the activity, two from the south side and one from the north side after they were finished.

The sketch below has a bit of photo collage for the Old Rainier Brewery sign.

On this last one I used my new favorite product.  I mentioned it in my post on 11 January  that Janice Berkebile had showed it to us in her workshop.  It’s  the new Molotow masking liquid pen.  It dries quite quickly, unlike other masking products I’ve tried.  I used the 2mm pen to preserve the white dots in the “R” so I could later color them with blue and green.  It worked perfectly!

In between the south and the north side, I sketched the view across the street.  It’s the Sounder rail yard at Airport Way & Hanford.  A plane flew overhead, on approach to Boeing field, and I sketched the outline really quickly.

Now I need to drive by the “R” at night to see the change of colors better!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seahawks Blue & Green

  1. Very nice, Kate!!!! I’m glad you’re ‘retired’ too….in more ways than one!

  2. Susan Torkelson says:

    Very, very nice, Caitriona!!

    –Susan T.

  3. Nice sketches of the sign. I love that you were able to sketch the guy working on it from the bucket!!! 62 degrees sounds so nice. It is about 27 here and we have 16 inches of snow outside from the blizzard overnight. I sketched snowy trees today.

  4. Cathy Tenzo says:

    Wow, these are beautiful. I am especially impressed by the train. I will have to look up masking fluid. I’m not exactly sure what you are talking about, but I love what you did with it!

    • redharparts says:

      Masking fluid is stuff painted on the page. When dry, watercolors can be painted over and it “preserves the white” of the paper. Then it’s removed and the white is there or it can be painted another color. For this one, I just put down little dots of mask then used colored pencil to fill in the white dots.

  5. Thanks for the hint about Molotow

Leave a Reply

