Georgetown, my favorite sketching neighborhood

After a visit to Daniel Smith Seattle, I stopped in Georgetown for a sketch.  There are still so many spots I want to sketch in this old, funky, neighborhood.   It was another beautiful sunny day of 55 degrees.  This is the Elysian Brewing Company.    Though they operate several restaurants, this is the location of their full production brewery.   I thought I should get a sketch done today as it’s supposed to start raining tomorrow and for the next few days.  Poor us… thinking of those still frozen and buried in snow in the Midwest and East!

The company sign is a bit of photo collage.

I was at Daniel Smith to pick up some supplies.  Look what I found:

This is a box of 100 postcards made from the sketches that appear in “Urban Sketching” book by Gabi Campanario, the founder of Urban Sketchers and the “Seattle Sketcher”.  I don’t think I knew about these before.  If I were going to the USk International Symposium on Singapore this year, it would be fun to have a set and get as many of them autographed as I could!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Georgetown, my favorite sketching neighborhood

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great Georgetown sketch! I just got a box of those cards for Christmas (it was officially given to me at Christmas, but it didn’t come from the publisher until last week). Great idea about getting them autographed — too bad I’m not going to Singapore! 😦

  2. Love the sketch of the brewery! How great that there is a funky neighborhood to visit and sketch nearby. We have a local brewery near me that I keep saying I should sketch. Maybe I’ll get to it when the snow is gone and I can park on the street again. lol

Leave a Reply

