Sew Expo

What does this huge fabric show have to do with sketching?  There are two connections.    I spend the entire day at Sew Expo at the Puyallup Fairgrounds.  This thing is massive, with a capitol M.  People come from all over the country.  The person I met who came the furthest came from Atlanta, GA!

This is the first connection:  My very first stop when I arrived at 0845 was the Pacific Fabrics booth to buy 2 panels of the fabric designed by Chandler O’Leary,  a Tacoma Artist.  There was no one at the booth yet and so I had no waiting!  She’s also an Urban Sketcher and has a wonderful blog about her travel sketches, Drawn the Road Again.

Here is a photo, taken later, of the panel and a couple closeups:

The second connection is this fabric, which looks to me like a watercolor palette!  I wasn’t going to buy any more fabric, but this was just too perfect!

See my photo host for more… and the Million Pillowcase challenge.  I added 13.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sew Expo

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I love both of those fabrics! The watercolor fabric would make a great brush case!

  2. rhodylady says:

    Oh my. WHERE WHERE WHERE can I find the watercolor palette fabric? Perhaps there a brand name on the selvedge??

Leave a Reply

