Leather Journal

On Saturday morning (28 Feb), I attended an Italian Leather Journal Making demo with Janice Berkebil at the main Seattle store of Daniel Smith.  I’m already signed up for the all day workshop but I wanted a preview.

Janice showed how to chose papers for the journal and how to fold and tear them in preparation for sewing into signatures in the journal.

intricate way to tie the closure strap

People in the demo said that waxed linen thread is available at Packaging Specialties in Georgetown.  They’re at 5th and Michigan (515 S. Michigan St.Seattle, WA 98108).  I expected a boring store that sold cardboard boxes.  Was I wrong!

It’s bright, colorful and full of decorative and clever ways to package gifts and other items.  It more than compensates for the loss of PaperZone in that regard.

The waxed linen thread, used to sew the signatures and books:

There is also a bin that is sold at 50 cents a yard, rather than by the whole spool.

There are lots of plain tins for making small watercolor palettes, @$1.25

I’ll be back!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leather Journal

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I’ve been to the Packaging Specialties store in Bellevue and have bought ribbon and tiny boxes and such that I have no use for except that they look cool! Thanks for the tip on bookbinding thread — I didn’t know they carried those kinds of supplies.

    Tina

Leave a Reply

