Odd Signs

There is a newly built McDonald’s in my area.  It doesn’t have the large Golden Arches sign.  I don’t remember that I’ve ever seen one without (well, except in Europe).   This one has a huge and somewhat creepy Ronald McDonald on the roof.

Then I drove over to Georgetown to sketch a sign I saw on Saturday.  It is across the street from Packaging Specialties

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Odd Signs

  1. JOAN says:

    There is a new McD’s built on the same site as one they tore down several years ago. The newer buildings don’t look familiar and without the Golden Arches (an iconic logo) are hardly recognizable from any other commercial bldg. I can’t imagine what they’re thinking with these changes.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Creepy, indeed. Great signage sketches, though! And wasn’t it a great day to be out sketching in the sunshine! I think I prefer it to the middle of summer!

    – Tina

Leave a Reply

