Bellevue Botanical Garden renovation

We’ve had nothing but beautiful weather for about a week.  It seems it will even get better over the next few days.  Today was again sunny and nearly 60 degrees.  I had a couple errands in Bellevue which I tackled after the morning commute had cleared.  I decided this would be the perfect time to look in on the renovation of the Bellevue Botanical Garden.

The garden itself was much as I remembered it.  There is a massive new Visitors Center with lots of meeting spaces.  Photos are here

My goal today was to see the suspension bridge over the ravine, which I’ve never seen before.

Strathmore Series 500 Mixed Media Visual Journal; Platinum Carbon Black in a Platinum Cool Pen; Daniel Smith Watercolors

I used my new masque pen to preserve the white areas so I could later paint the foreground trees and the suspension lines.

I met a young couple strolling but prepared with binoculars for birds they might see.  We spotted a hawk together.  We passed an informational sign that indicated Pileated Woodpeckers are in the area.  I would really like to see one!  I think I might have only once before.  But there was evidence of their activity near the trail.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

