Connie & more

I’m behind in documenting my sketch outings and more!  Too much good weather and sketching!  Wait, there’s never too much.

After my shift at the Museum of Flight yesterday (Thur 12 March), I sat outside in the warm sun to sketch the Lockheed SuperG Constellation.  It had been moved from the Air Park to the front lawn of the Museum while the Air Park is under construction.  This location really highlights it.   I chose this view for its drama and perspective challenge.

During my shift, I had one of those amazing experiences that sometimes just happen there.  It was such a heartwarming story!  A family came in and asked for a staff member I did not know.  They used the house phone to call her.  While waiting, they took some photos together and, as I often do, I offered to take the camera so they could all be in the photo.  That started a conversation.  The older man in the wheel chair is a retired Air Force LTC.  His son is at right.  The man kneeling at left is the grandson of the Dutch man who helped the LTC when he bailed out of his aircraft over The Netherlands during WWII.  The grandfather hid the airman in his rabbit shed until the Dutch resistance could connect with him.  The families have kept in touch and now the grandson and his wife are here for the LTC’s 90+ birthday!

Grandson of Dutch rescuer, son’s wife, grandson’s wife, son; all with WWII veteran

The day was so beautifully spring-like, I just kept going.  I walked around Columbia City but didn’t sketch.  I then went to Jefferson Park, walked around and sketched this cherry tree.  There was a plaque indicating the trees  were planted to commemorate the Centennial Celebration of the gift of trees from Japan.  This centennial was 7/14/2012

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

