Friday at Ada’s

Seattle Urban Sketchers Friday Ad Hoc group met at Ada’s Technical Book store on Capitol Hill yesterday (Friday the 13th!).  I took the bus to get there rather than try to find parking.  As I walked the short distance from my stop, I noticed this view down a side street.  I walked further in and sketched from the middle of a tiny roundabout.  The weekly theme on Urban Sketchers flikcr page is “pavement” so I put some in the foreground

Strathmore Visual Journal, Series 500 Mixed Media, Platinum Carbon Black in a Platinum Cool Pen;  Daniel Smith Watercolors

The bookstore has so many interesting corners and bits. There are lots of technical kits and, of course, books. Given the emphasis on technology, my first sketch was of a very high tech coffee machine.  I researched it later.  Here is a YouTube about the method.  And here is even more about it from CoffeeGeek.

Next I looked at one of the walls, with a door high up near the ceiling!  There were glowing lights in the doorway that changed colors.

Stillman & Birn Zeta, Platinum Carbon Black in a Platinum Cool Pen;
Daniel Smith Watercolors

Sharing sketches and the group photo:

I’m posting this a day late…. so remember today is Pi Day!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday at Ada’s

  1. JOAN says:

    The link to Coffee Geek doesn’t work. I can get to the website but haven’t a clue where to look for cold brew coffee method. I searched customer reviews and Coffee Geek reviews but no cold brewer is listed. I’m very interested in this unique process.

  2. joantav says:

    Hope you had a Happy Pi Day! I really like the view down the street and the sketches inside the coffee shop! I’ll take a decaf.

Leave a Reply

