Our first regular Wednesday outing

The first regular 3rd Wednesday sketch outing for the Tacoma Urban Sketchers was in Union Station, Tacoma.   It is a beautiful interior, full of graceful architecture and many Dale Chihuly glass pieces.  We had an excellent turn out, as well.  There were 18 sketchers, though some had to leave before the final group photo.

I chose a view from the second floor, looking through an arch to the Chihuly hanging glass over the lobby.

I had a few minutes before our sharing session at 12:30 so I quickly sketched this view through the Chihuly Monarch window.  It only took about 10 minutes.

Sketchers around the building:

Sharing sketches and our group photo, under the Chihuly Oval.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our first regular Wednesday outing

  1. Cathy Tenzo says:

    It was great fun!

  2. Pingback: 18 March 2015 — #sketchbookskool, #sketchaday | That's What She Sketched

  3. miatagrrl says:

    What a great place this is to sketch! If I can get away on Wednesday mornings sometimes, I hope I can join you.

  4. joantav says:

    Oh, how wonderful to have the Chihuly pieces adorning the station. Nice sketches.

  5. Peggy says:

    Nice turnout and sketches, Kate!

Leave a Reply

