Indoors at Outdoor World

Today’s solo sketch outing started out as a “Duh!”.  It’s National Volunteer Week.  There is a large list of museums offering reciprocal entry to each other’s volunteers.  So with my Museum of Flight badge, I can go to a lot of museums for free this week.  I sat down yesterday and made a plan to visit some I’ve never been to before.

I’d planned to go to the Washington State History Museum after Wednesday’s Tacoma Sketch outing.  But then I thought I might not have enough time and decided to go today, since it is supposed to rain.  I drove all the way there to then realize I’d failed to check the hours….. and it is closed today!  Sigh.

As I drove down, I noted the sign for Bass Pro shops.  I’d thought I might eventually scope it out as a possible sketching venue.  I decided today is that day.

Wow.  There’s a lot of dead animals there!  For those who are anti-hunting, it might not be a place to sketch.  However, there are lots of other things to sketch besides the mounts!  It’s huge.  It’s an impressive environment.  I felt like I’d stepped into “Outdoor Man” the fictional store in “Last Man Standing” with Tim Allen.

All photos here.

As I entered, I just stopped in the huge lobby. There were chairs so I sat to sketch the opposite wall.  As I wrote in my book, within the range of vision as I moved my head side to side and up and down, there were 62 trophies mounted on the walls.

Stillman & Birn Zeta hardbound (5.25×8.5) 180#/270gsm; Platinum Carbon Black in a Platinum Cool Pen; Daniel Smith Watercolors

 

Once inside, this is looking down the main aisle to the huge tank of live fish.

These models don’t move!

I almost bought Duck Butts!  There is a very funny story by Dave Berry involving these duck lures in a punch bowl!

There is an amazing bowling alley

Between all the scenes, the mounts, the merchandise displays and the building itself, I think it could be a good sketch outing.  It’s only about 10 min past the Tacoma Dome on I-5.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indoors at Outdoor World

  1. joantav says:

    Sounds like it would be a fun place to sketch with all the assorted mounted animals and models. I’ll be looking forward to seeing your outing there. Great sketch of all the heads!

Leave a Reply

