New sketchbook method

Now that I have so many sheets of Strathmore Series 500 Mixed Media paper, it’s time to make sketchbooks.  I just finished making a second leather bound one for Fort Nisqually’s shop.  While making it, I had the thought to use the same technique but with a heavy cardstock cover.

That is what I did today.  I bound a signature in which I’d already painted and added 3 more of the Strathmore paper.  The cover stock came from Artists and Craftsmen Supply in Seattle’s University district.  It is Daler-Rowney Canford Card Canford Imperial.  It’s at least 140 pounds.

The end paper is one of the new ones now available at Daniel Smith, Seattle.  They have converted a main floor office to a new room for papers.  It has wildflowers in it!

Folded closed.  I made it with the overlapping cover, just as the leather ones are.  I added an elastic band, threaded through the center of the spine, as I did with my faux-dori.

The long stitch.

Thanks to Janice Berkebile at Daniel Smith, Seattle, for the original instruction in her bookbinding workshops!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts, KIt and Supplies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New sketchbook method

  1. I once made handmade paper with dried flowers in it like that. Very nice sketchbook – love it!

  2. nice sketchbook MK. it’s fun to make handmade / handcrafted paper, my husband and i love it. ;D

  3. miatagrrl says:

    Looks great! Will the cardstock cover hold up to carrying around in your bag for a while? Couldn’t you have also waited until you had several signatures filled and then bind them afterwards (like I do)? Or your intention was to make a book you could carry?

    – Tina

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks. It’s a heavy cardstock, so I hope it will hold up. I’ll have to see. There are only 4 signatures. I tried carrying just a signature, but I didn’t like it. I like to have a few sketches to show people who stop to talk.

  4. joantav says:

    I like the cover with the overlapping flap. Great way to protect what treasures are inside.

Leave a Reply

