Catching up

We’ve had friends visiting since Thursday morning (23 April).  I’ve done some sketching and I’m going to just put them all here, rather than writing a separate post for each event.

First, I finished one from Port Gamble that I didn’t get around to coloring for almost a week!

On Friday, I took my friends to the Pompeii exhibit at the Pacific Science Center.  It was fairly crowded, so I took a few photos and did tiny thumbnail sketches in my pocket sketchbook.  This is the last stop for this traveling exhibit before it returns to Italy.

For Saturday, I got them on the crew compartment tour of the Space Shuttle Trainer at the Museum of Flight.  Since I’ve already done it, I watched their coats and belongings.  Sitting on the floor in a corner, I did this sketch of the newly repositioned Soyuz descent module.   The tail of the Space Shuttle trainer is above it.

This is also my contribution to the Worldwide Sketchcrawl Day # 47.  There was nothing organized locally.

It holds 3 people but it is very cramped:   6ft, 2 in (2.1 meters)long and only 7 ft 2 in (2.2 meters) in diameter.  It was this in which Charles Simonyi came back to earth from his tourist trip to the International Space Station with the Russians.  He bought it and donated it to the Museum.

Friends back on the train to home this afternoon.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

