Worlds Collide

Himself and I have taken up playing Ingress.  It’s played both on-line and in the real, physical world. “It’s a giant game of capture the flag”. I won’t take up more time with details.  If you really do want to know more, watch the intro video.    **

“Benches” is the weekly theme for Urban Sketchers flickr group.

Here’s the collision.  It was through this game that I learned there is a bench in Renton’s Coulon Park dedicated to Earl Clymer.  I knew Earl in his elder years. I didn’t know him well but I did interact with him at church functions.  Before I moved here, he
was the long time mayor of Renton.  Here is his obituary.    I also got to know his granddaughter through her arts and crafts shop and her involvement in the local arts community.

As a tribute to him, I wanted to sketch his bench.   I chose this view as this is what he’d see if he was sitting on his bench.  I wonder whether those who chose this bench to honor him picked this location for a particular reason. Did he like the view.  Perhaps he liked to watch people swimming here in summer.  I’m not sure if what we see across Lake Washington is the other side of Renton, or the southern tip of Mercer Island.

** If you are actually interested, we are on the “Enlightenment” side.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Worlds Collide

  1. Raj Kumar says:

    I love the calmness of the sketch.Is water colors or pastel colors used?

  2. redharparts says:

    Argh. The opposition captured the bench this morning! Grrr.

Leave a Reply

