Testing

My debut as an Interpreter at Fort Nisqually is tomorrow.  The event will be Queen Victoria’s Birthday.   I’ll be interpreting the sort of documentary sketching done by travelers and explorers in the mid-19th century.    I’m basing my interpretation on Frances Anne Hopkins.  She was a painter who traveled with her husband to North American.  He was an officer of the Hudson’s Bay Company.  She documented what she saw on her travels in sketch books and then did large oil paintings once home.  The Fort’s shop has prints of some of these painting.

I’ve long since gathered my period kit but today I tested the media.  I learned some things.

The water color palette is a hand made tin one, similar to those of the period.  Sitting on it is a glass ink well.

Lesson #1:  though this is the same ink I use every day, drawing with it using a dip pen seems to require a longer drying time.   It might also be the paper.  In any case, I need to be careful about smudges and allow for more time to dry.  All the more opportunity to take breaks and talk to the public!

Lesson #2:  Cork up the ink before starting to paint using the glass water bottle, below on the right.  I mistakenly dipped my brush in the ink!

I hope to have someone use my camera for photos so I’ll have more to share on Sunday!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in 19th century interpreter, KIt and Supplies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Testing

  1. Paul Bauck says:

    Very nice kit! Your 19th century forebearers would recognize it instantly and be pleased with your honoring them.

  2. Sandi says:

    I’m so excited for you. Glad you’re keeping us updated

  3. Tina says:

    Have fun! Looking forward to seeing your photos.

Leave a Reply

