Country Village Shops

Once again, Urban Sketchers Seattle met at a place I’d never been: The Country Village Shops in Bothell.  There was a scene I wanted to sketch everywhere I turned.  I’d go back every day if it wasn’t 30-90 minutes away (30 min on Sunday; 90 minutes the rest of the
week!).

The property started as a farm, with the original farmhouse built in 1901.  Since then, the property has had a checkered existence, declining to a “den of thieves” in the mid 1960’s.  It was saved by Rod Loveless, a residential land developer, in 1979.

When I looked at the site on the internet, I knew right away my first sketch would have to be this crazy chicken!  It was built in 2006 when Rod decided the Village needed a mascot.  It is made of recycled chunks of styrofoam and fiberglass.  The chicken is 16 feet tall.

Though it looks old, the Courtyard building was completed in 1994.

I had just 10 minutes before meeting back up with the other sketchers.  I dashed off this sketch of the frog fountain in my pocket sketchbook.

There were several new people today.  We shared our sketches and then had a group photo.

I have more photos of sketchers and from around the property here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Country Village Shops

  1. Very nice ~ what fun and your really captured the charm of the place

  2. JOAN says:

    What kind of sketchbook are you using? Will you take a photo of the bag you carry on these outings & your supplies? I’m in the market for a bag to tuck a minimal amount of supplies into. Do you carry a stool of some sort?

Leave a Reply

