Debut at Fort Nisqually

Yesterday was my debut as an Interpreter at Fort Nisqually.  I demonstrated the documentary sketching done by travelers and explorers in the mid-19th century.  I explained to visitors that most Ladies of the period were taught to draw and paint in
watercolor.  Queen Victoria was so taught as a young girl and kept a sketchbook her whole life.

My period clothing was provided by the Fort’s closet.  My sketching kit was my own.

photo by the Fort’s photographer

I was gratified by how many people were interested and stopped to talk.  I was also pleased about how many children said they draw.  In my mundane street sketching, most people say they can’t draw.  I didn’t rush through my sketches but took plenty of time to let
the ink and watercolor dry.  It also gave me lots of time to speak with visitors and explain my kit.  So I only did two sketches.

The Fort’s bell

The Fort’s newly constructed Bake Oven, used for the first time.

After scanning, these will be returned to the Fort.  The original 5×7 sketches will be sold in the Fort’s shop.

I also made time to see some of the other activities, such as the opening ceremonies and the men’s and women’s fashion show.

Procession to the opening

I was nice to see the young people involved and even dancing!

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in 19th century interpreter, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Debut at Fort Nisqually

  1. Sandra says:

    So happy for you . Great sketches too

  2. Joan says:

    That is so awesome, the sketches, the participation. Love it.

  3. Tina says:

    Excellent debut! You look great!

  4. That is so cool! You look so nice and friendly. What a fabulous way to use your talent and have fun sketching.

  5. Wow, your sketches look really great. It reminds me of how much fun I had the last time I visited the Fort. I’ll have to stop by again sometime.

    • redharparts says:

      Be sure to check the website for “Crafts of the Past”. These are volunteers demonstrating their specialties with a chance to try it out. This weekend is metal engraving and next week is wool dying.

Leave a Reply

