Making for the Fort

I completed two projects today for Fort Nisqually.  Over the long weekend, I think I’ve put in about 10 hours.  I attended the Sewing Guild on Saturday and, collectively, we got a lot done.  I learned some new techniques, too.

Yesterday and today I made another leather book for sale in the Fort’s shop.  Last week I bought more leather.  This piece is much nicer than the previous one.  It’s easier to work on in that getting the needle through is easier.  It is more supple so the strap goes together better.


It’s a nice color, too.


Nice neat strap.

I also completed a watercolor original from a photo.  The shop manager wanted one of the Fort’s rooster.  Since he doesn’t hold still enough to do a decent sketch from life, I made some photos and worked out a sketch from them.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

