Lund demo at DS

Liesel Lund did a demo at Daniel Smith today.  It was titled “Watercolor Sketching”.

This is the only photo of the demo I was able to take.  Right at this point she looked at me and said “Please don’t take so many photos”.   That’s a first for me at a Daniel Smith demo!  I’d only done this one.  Ah well…. thus I cannot show you her teaching technique or beautiful sketchbooks.  Some images of sketchbooks are available on her website.

The demo started with a 45 minute review of materials and equipment. This took about half the demo time.  Review being the operative word as I was familiar with all the items discussed.  However, if I was the returning almost-beginner I was in 2012, I would have welcomed this over view of the papers and other useful supplies.     It was just the thing I wanted then.

Many DS demos are introduction to workshops to be held at the store.  This seemed to be for her on-line class, “Joyful Beginning Watercolor”.   The course outline looks quite comprehensive.  She said it is for the absolute beginner.   The website seems a little confusing.  The link for “full description of class” goes to a forum or message board.

Ms. Lund had a very upbeat and encouraging style during the demo.  She urged silencing of the inner critic.  She said,
“Your audience is you”
“Your own style will come out; you don’t have to look for it”

I have several on line classes in my queue already (on Craftsy).  I’m tempted by hers but it might be too basic.  There are some topics, though, that are very interesting and I’d like to see her take on them.  It’s far more expensive than Craftsy classes but is also much more extensive, with 66 videos and many more handouts.

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lund demo at DS

  1. ….speaking personally, I prefer to avoid demos as usually (for me at least) they end up amounting to artistic entertainment, as I don’t retain more than maybe 1/8th of what was covered, and often come away thinking they are the expert and I should change my pallet/style/methods. Again, personally, I much prefer YouTube demos where I can pause and restart at will, or simply jump ahead or maybe even abort the whole thing. Buying a favourite artist’s offered video/demo is also preferred to my paying out $250 for a weekend session where I am only one of several (or many) vying for attention/assistance–I get much more information out of watching something online or onscreen. thank you for posting this, ‘redharparts’.

    • redharparts says:

      I can see your point. I regard myself as an intermediate sketcher…. not quite a beginner but with a lot of room for improvement. I usually get at least one useful idea out of demos. Their purpose at Daniel Smith is for one to preview the instructor to help decide whether to take the workshop. These are usually one day sessions for $50 or so.

      About 3 years ago I attended another one of Liesel’s demos and decided I wouldn’t take the workshop as it was about Art journals…. the over decorated style wasn’t for me.

      • thank you for taking the time to answer my comment–it is very interesting that there are these ‘previews’ for $50, which seems both reasonable and enough for (as you say) bringing home ‘at least one useful idea’.

  2. redharparts says:

    No, the demos are FREE. The one day workshops for which they preview are about $50.

Leave a Reply

