Postcards arrived

On 1 May, I attended a Postcard Art event to kick off Historic Tacoma month.   I produced 10 postcards of prints of my sketches of historic areas of Tacoma.  I now realize it would have been good if I’d taken a photo of the group.  Remember that for next year!  We posted them all up so everyone could take a look:

As a result, I received 10 postcards from others.  I’d nearly forgotten about them.  These were all postmarked 1 June and were in my PO box today.

Of the 10, 6 are from people I sketch with in Urban Sketchers Tacoma!

Top:  Frances Buckmaster, View of Downtown Tacoma from Johnny’s Dock;  Frances Buckmaster, Train Station Tacoma;  Frances Buckmaster, Union Station; RJ (Bob) Lane, Grain ships anchored on Ruston Way;

Middle:  Steve LaBere, Elks Lodge; David Schimer, Imperial Dragon on 6th Ave.; no name, Dockhouse on the Foss; RJ (Bob) Lane, above the Foss Waterway;

Bottom:  Gary Knutson (President of Historic Tacoma); Judy Ritchie, blank (didn’t understand the concept??).

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Postcards arrived

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Cool project!

  2. What a great sharing of both the familiar and the personal. Tacoma is one of those cities where there’s sublime amidst the rough–it is no wonder Chihuly chose this waterfronted workers’ metropolis to work his magic. There’s something about the making of glass which combines the industrial with the exquisite, a kind of visual metaphor of Tacoma.

    • redharparts says:

      Tacoma is a wonderful place to sketch. So many old buildings and so much history. Urban Sketchers Tacoma is hosting a regional (Pacific NW) sketch outing 11 July. And then next year, we hope to be the host for the Westcoast Sketch crawl!

Leave a Reply

