Fort kit finished

My watercolor box for interpreting at Fort Nisqually is done.  For now. I ordered a number of new items.   I obtained the box from Dick Blick.   The 5 well hand glazed porcelain palette mixing tray also came from DB. It is nearly exactly like ones I’ve seen photos of from period.  It fit nicely in one of the divided sections of the box.  The tiny glass period reproduction inkwell came from Etsy seller Westward Gifts (he’s out at the moment but will have more soon).

It fits together like this for carrying.  The ink well is very nice but not very secure.  I’ve already spilled from it!  For transport, I’m holding the lid tighter with a rubber band.  I also needed to sand the side of the box a bit to get the ink well to fit.

The rest of the kit hasn’t changed.  I’m using a small portfolio to hold paper and as a lap desk on which to draw.  The small round bottle holds an individual serving of clean water and the large bottle holds my daily supply.  I’ve written about the small tin watercolor palette before.

Oh, and the staff member organizing “Crafts of the Past” did a really nice summary of what I do:
…enjoys painting and sketching in the outdoors, and her sketches from sessions at Fort Nisqually have resulted in a series of note cards. She is also a Fort re-enactor, and  she has developed an ink and  watercolor painting kit that reflects 19th century practices. You will find her in period dress, sketching at the Fort as though she were a woman traveler, such as Frances Anne Hopkins, who sketched what she saw while traveling with her husband, an officer of the Hudson’s Bay Company.  Visitors, young and old, will have an opportunity to experiment with watercolors.”

That will be the information for my Crafts of the Past presentation weekend, August 15 & 15.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in 19th century interpreter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fort kit finished

  1. joantav says:

    Looks like a good setup. Thanks for sharing it.

    I love all the postcards in the post below. It is a great idea. I’ve done art postcard exchanges with people and it makes it a lot of fun to go to the mailbox every day.

  2. Fabio says:

    It looks good, Kate! 🙂

  3. Diana Jackson says:

    MK, did you see the post a week or two ago from an urban sketcher in Asia? He puts gauze in his ink bottle so it won’t spill, and has no problem getting the ink on his dip pens. Not period, but might help keep your box and other items clean.
    Diana Jackson

  4. I want to buy a porcelain palette – I see you have one there. Nice kit!

Leave a Reply

