A full day of art.

Most of the day was being out with Seattle Urban Sketchers.  We met in a different section of Fremont today.  There is about a 4 block portion that has a lot of interesting industrial subjects to sketch.

I made up for being off my sketching due to a cold and sinus infection.  I got in 4 sketches!

However, I went “off piste” and went over to Theo’s Chocolates to sketch the first of 24 “Astronauts on the Town“.  As part of The Museum of Flight’s 50th Anniversary celebration they have launched this public art project. It features 25 six-foot astronaut statues, each painted by local artists and displayed in public locations.  The website has a map.  My summer goal is to sketch them all.  There have been 3 deployed so far.   This is “Happy Constellations” by Fin’es Scott

Before heading out today, I looked over the suggested locations and picked Fleur de Lis Garden Ornament as my favorite.  It was an odd building.

When we met this morning at a coffee shop, I noticed this large tug boat in dry dock down the street. I still had some time, so I got in my boat sketch for Urban Sketchers’ weekly theme!

While there, I ran into Michele sketching the same scene from her car.  She has a custom set up to turn the driver’s seat into a mobile studio:

We met back up at Way Station Coffee to share out sketches.

Then a few of us went to lunch down the street at the very funky Drunky’s Two Shoe BBQ      Others sketched the chainsaw chandelier.  I sketched what was in my field of vision:  the water table on which sat a fern with a horse jumping out of it!

But I wasn’t done with art yet!  On to Daniel Smith Seattle for a late afternoon demo by an artist whose blog I’ve followed for at least a year.  I didn’t take any photos.  It was good to finally meet Gentian in person and watch her work her magic with paint and paper!  Yikes, she’s lost her domain!  But this is her flickr site.   Maybe her site will be back up soon:     Drawing with a Squirrel.  I’m not all that interested in the media she demonstrated today but I will try her method of using a dip pen with watercolor… she fills the nib with a brush.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A full day of art.

  1. JOAN says:

    Nice sketches! You certainly have a myriad of places/sites to sketch in Seattle! A very active art scene too. I have to ask what pen you use for your sketches? The set up for painting in the car is unique and very clever. I could use something like that in the summer when it’s too hot to be outdoors, this week it’s be from 108F to 111F which means I hibernate.

  2. joantav says:

    Great sketches, Kate! How great to be able to sketch all the astronaut statues…hope you find them all. Love the sketch of the tugboat. Tina said almost everyone sketched it. Fun to see different versions. You had a very successful day!

Leave a Reply

