Gig Harbor

Urban Sketchers Tacoma went out to Gig Harbor to meet at the Skansie Net Shed.  One of our number arranged to gain entrance so we had the run of the shed all morning.  My first sketch was from the deck, looking back into the shed.

It was a perfect day… sunny, warm enough but with a nice breeze.  I sat on the dock of the marina and sketched the view of the shed from the beach.

While sitting on the doc, I met Sherlene, who stopped to look at my sketch.  She was a Fine Arts major and now does photography.  We had a nice chat about all that.   She and her husband, Kevin, and their dog, Taco, live on their boat.  They made an interesting life:  6 months they are a truck driving team.  The rest of the time they live on their boat.


They blog about their life on the boat:  https://svwingsofthemorning.wordpress.com/

There was about 15 minutes left.  So I splashed together a sketch of the Fisherman’s Memorial.

Then we met to share sketches and a group photo.

More Photos

A few of us brought a bag lunch and sat under the pavilion to eat and chat.  I finally saw a crow use the concrete to break an oyster shell.  It flew up and dropped the shell a couple times.  Then hopped to the grass and ate the oyster.  I’d read they do that but this is the first time I’ve seen it!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gig Harbor

  1. miatagrrl says:

    A good turnout! But on a perfect day like today, it’s not surprising. 🙂

  2. joantav says:

    Looks like a great location to sketch. You did great on those rustic buildings!

  3. you have such a good sense of line

Leave a Reply

