Bagged 2 more Astronauts

A lunch date with former co-workers took me to Ballard.  I took the opportunity to sketch 2 more of the Astronauts On The Town.

First, the Aboriginaut, found inside the Ballard Locks Visitors Center.

The design is based on cave drawings of astronomy by Aboriginal cultures of Australia. The symbols on the suit depict the sun, the stars and the moon along with symbols representing travel. The technique is done with acrylic paint and a dotted pattern.

Then on the the lunch venue.  My friends graciously conceded to alter the venue so I could sketch the Astronaut at Ray’s Boat House.  We had a delicious lunch on the 2nd story patio with a gorgeous view of the Puget Sound.

Basstronaut

That top patio is where we had lunch.

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bagged 2 more Astronauts

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Perfect day for lunch at Ray’s — and 2 astronauts, too! Good goin’!

  2. Cathy Tenzo says:

    This explains the new astronaut statue in the EMP. I didn’t have time to sketch it today but am hoping to go back Tuesday and if not sometimes in the next week.

  3. joantav says:

    22 more to go??? I love the astronaut sketches and how each is so different from the others.

Leave a Reply

