What’s Cooking?

Yesterday was one of Fort Nisqually’s now annual events.  “What’s Cooking” is a period cooking contest.  Prizes are awarded for the greatest effort toward historical authenticity, most creative story, and the best use of the Fort’s garden produce. Grand prizes are the “Golden Skillet” (best savory dish) and the new “Golden Mold” (best sweet/dessert dish). The celebrity guest judge was Amanda Westbrooke, host of TV Tacoma’s CityLine, a weekly economic and cultural affairs program.  The other two judges were past winners.

My first sketch was started before the Fort opened.  I sat in the shade to sketch the ingrediants fresh from the Fort’s garden.  They were for the cooks participating in the contest.

I moved to another patch of shade near the Factor’s house to sketch one of the interpreters spinning.

Finally and foolishly, I sat in the direct afternoon sun to sketch one of the outdoor kitchens.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take notes on all the winners.  Other prizes were awarded, such as “Best use from the Fort garden” and “Judges Favorite”.


The grand prize awards


I did make sure I later got a taste on the grand prize winning Jagerschnitzel.  It was as good as any I had in Germany (and over 5 years there, I ate a lot of Jagerschnitzel!).


The winning teams.

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in 19th century interpreter, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Cooking?

  1. joantav says:

    Nice sketches from your day at the fort. The contest sounds like fun.

Leave a Reply

