Dry Stone Wall

Last year, the Seattle Urban Sketchers Friday ad-hoc group visited Kubota Garden  to see stone masons Junji and Suminori Awata and Tetsuro Tanabe, a master stone splitter.  They came from Japan to build the 8-foot tall ishigaki or dry stone stacked rampart base for the new Terrace Overlook.

We returned today to see the result of the stonemasons’ work.  The timber pavilion was built by local carpenters.  It overlooks the koi pond.

Despite meeting at 9 am, it was still quite hot by 11 when I finally found the Heart Bridge.

I’d gotten rather lost even though I had a map.   I didn’t stay to sketch it as I was too hot and tired.  I never did find my goal, the Moon bridge. It took a while to find my way back to the meeting place where we shared sketches and had a group photo.

I was delighted to meet Jennie, a visitor from Michigan via Australia!  She is living in Michigan not very far from where I grew up.  The Midwest Urban Sketchers group is quite spread out, so she sketches with the Melbourne Sketchers when she goes back to visit her home town!  We also welcomed Martha, a new local sketcher to join us.

More photos here

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dry Stone Wall

  1. redharparts says:

    I went back today. Turns out the bridge pictured is the Mood bridge. I found both this one again and the Heart bridge today.

Leave a Reply

